Continuing Education Requirements

Training standards and Continuing Education requirements for massage therapists vary by state, locality and professional organization.

The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) requires 48 hours in 4 years, 6 hours must be ethics

The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) requires 48 hours in 4 years

The Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals (ABMP) requires 16 hours in 2 years at a certified level

 


In 2015:

  • 46 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands had laws regulating massage therapy. Most of the boards governing massage therapy require practicing massage therapists to complete a formal education program and pass an examination.
  • States without licensure requirements were Kansas, Minnesota,¬†Oklahoma, Vermont, and Wyoming.

Because laws often change, it is best to check information on licensing, certification, and accreditation on a State-by-State basis. The following state links will keep you updated for Continuing Education Requirements.

 

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado
Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho
Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana
Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi
Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma
Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee
Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington Washington D.C.
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

 


Looking for Canada Continuing Education Requirements?

Visit Canada Continuing Education